DIY: Spice up your kitchen!

Spices ~ { Aromatic substances of vegetable origin used as a preservative}

A friend of mine recently asked me to make a spice rack for her.  Now, although I am quite nifty with the power-tools, I do not really have the correct tools for the job.  However, I could not say no to the challenge!

She briefed me and this is more or less what she required:

Screenshot_2014-06-09-21-07-09[1]

 

Screenshot_2014-06-26-19-59-03[1]

 

So those of you who know me, know that I recycle.  I found loads of off cuts at a local carpentry.  So I didn’t have to spend a fortune on buying the wood.

Let me get cracking!

Material list:

Supawood (MDF), cut to size

Super-strong wood glue

Wood screws

Panel pins

I started off building a block.  Then I proceeded to add the shelves on the inside of the block.  I also added the small blocks that creates the interest of the otherwise boring rack.

DSC06769

DSC06770

 

This is all I could complete today.  Next is the finishing and painting.  Canary yellow it is!

Stay tuned…I will post completed product later this week!

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “DIY: Spice up your kitchen!

  1. Colline says:

    Looks like it will be a perfect addition to her kitchen.

    • Lilly Loompa says:

      Yes…it will definitely Colline! She is adventurous with colour and insisted it be either yellow or orange! I thought yellow would be fitting for the kitchen!

  2. It is beautiful. I would definitely construct one too though I might have to hire an expert…

Leave a Reply

