“Why don’t you do it yourself?”

How many times in frustration and sarcasm have you said this? Maybe in a fit of anger at someone who made a comment about your sad attempt of frying an egg!

But I refer specifically to DIY. Do-it-yourself.

We live in an era of empowerment. “Empower yourself”, they say. Who are they…the media and all those other people. They say find your own way in life!  Drill your own holes … do not wait for a man!

Imagine my surprise when I found out, there are men out there who cannot DIY. Do not misunderstand me, these men are successful in their careers and short nothing in terms of material things. But for some strange reason they never got a chance to develop their DIY talents, if any!

However, where there is a woman, there is always a picture to be hung … or curtains!  Aaargh! A nightmare for any DIY dummie!  Take my friend, actor, Solomon Cupido, as an example.  Last week he called in a bit of a panic … he must hang a curtain rail.  This is a newlywed … and the pressure is on!  His wife expects him to hang the curtains, and perhaps she doesn’t even know that he is clueless!  He needs to impress!

So my otherwise quiet Saturday afternoon was recently interrupted when I heard him screaming at the gate … he must learn drill today!  He and his co-actor, comedian, Bradley Olivier, came along for moral support … really?  

28441_427796328054_389683_n

Solomon and Bradley

I realized the depth of Solomon’s problem when he asked what a “bit” is. My husband jokingly explained to him step-by-step on how to use the drill. Solomon listened attentively while Bradley chirped background… “I knew that man!” Yah right…!  We know you know everything Brad!

Eventually they leave, equally proud and empowered!  And believe it or not … he gets it right. And just to prove he did it … he sends me a photo:

Wendy_3Cupido

Solomon shows us he can drill!

The whole debacle made me think. The whole era of self-empowerment has always been focused on the woman. Have we become so empowered that we never let the men do anything for us? It may be part of the problem.  

We are often referred to as the “fatherless generation”. The reality is that a lot of young men grow up without their fathers around to teach them the skill.  But there is hope! Nowadays you can just “Google” your problem and immediately there are thousands of videos and tutorials to show you how.

Why don’t you do it yourself?  Or if all else fails, come around and we’ll show you!

*This post was also written in Afrikaans

 

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on ““Why don’t you do it yourself?”

  1. Colline says:

    The same goes for girls who are unable to a hem or a button; or even knit.

  2. Lilly Loompa says:

    I agree Colline. I myself can only do the basics of sewing. I know how to, guess I’m just spoiled, I take everything to the tailor.

Leave a Reply

