Thrift stores and surprises

I love Kensington!  *It’s my neighbourhood.

Yesterday I had some time to wander and explore.  Kensington is filled with interesting history and places.  One of them is Queen Street.  It is lined with loads of coffee shops, thrift-shops etc.

kensington_top

I love rummaging through antique shops.  I love looking at items of years gone by…and even better when I can buy them!

DSC04774

Where to look?

DSC04772

Love these art deco light fixtures

My photographer friend, Michael Abrahams would love this antique camera collection.

DSC04775

Vintage camera collection

And to my surprise…I found a vintage tea set!  Just like mine!  Wow…was shocked to see the price!

DSC04770

Growing up, I used to admire this tea set my granny had.  She kept it locked up in her sideboard. Remember those sideboards?

sideboard retro 1

Sideboard

She knew I loved it, so on my wedding day…she gave it to me!  God willing, my granny, Ryce Damonse, will turn 100 years this year!  I love her!  Thanks Mamma!

I love my tea cups.  I’ve lost a few during my moving years.  😦

DSC04622

I love putting it out when I receive special guests…like my girlfriends.

DSC04685

Me (on the left) and some of my girlfriends…

Good times…and I will guard my tea cups and save it for my daughters to enjoy one day!

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Thrift stores and surprises

  1. estherhwillow says:

    Reblogged this on Birdies Blog.

  2. Colline says:

    Reminds me of good times I have spent with my mom and aunt browsing in these shops as well. Never know what you might find!

Leave a Reply

