Here’s to Kensington…here’s to another new adventure!

As mentioned before, we just moved into a new house, in a suburb (totally new to me) called Kensington.

Naturally

I am

curious

about my new surroundings.

On National Women’s Day  I was at home spending time with the girls, very relaxed.  As I was sitting on the stoep (veranda) I enjoyed the glorious sun.  I could see the city skyline peeping through the tree tops and in the distance I could hear the dull noises of this larger-than-life concrete jungle.

Believe it or not, just a few days before we were showered with snow in this very same place.

I was just basking in the glorious weather.  The distinctive sound of the Hadeda bird echoed all around me.

Ha-de-da….ha-de-da!

There was a slight breeze in the air and suddenly a sense of gratefulness came over me.

* God is great

I feel fortunate to live in this wonderful new dwelling and experience this new-found abundance.

I am just trying to soak up everything…relax more, enjoy more.

I did some research and found out that Kensington is the largest suburb in Johannesburg!  Pretty awesome!  It stretches from Fairview and Troyeville in the West, to Eastgate and Bedfordview border in the East. It is bounded by Belgravia and Malvern in the South and by Judith’s Paarl, Bezuidenhout Valley, Dewetshof and Bruma in the North.

The streets in Kensington, a 1904 Johannesburg suburb, named after its counterpart in London, reflect a profound jingoism. That was when, after the Anglo Boer War, Alfred Lord Milner and his “kindergarten” of Oxford administrators was intent on bringing Imperial civilisation to the Transvaal. So, today, Kensingtonians, probably unthinkingly, drive along Roberts or Kitchener avenues, named after the Anglo Boer War victors, or negotiate the curve of Milner Crescent and walk their dogs in Rhodes Park.

But there’s a more intriguing twist to the street names of this suburb; no less than 83 streets are named after Royal Navy warships. Collingwood Street (the one we live on) is named after a dreadnought, honouring Vice Admiral Cuthbert Lord Collingwood who mopped up the French fleet once Nelson had fallen at Trafalgar. Royal Oak Street was named after a British battleship launched in 1892. Barossa Street is named after a cruiser that sailed African waters and was based in Simonstown during the Anglo Boer War.

I also found out there is an active committee operating in Kensington.  They look after the well-being of this “village in the city.”  They have markets, and events and hold a wealth of history archives of the suburb itself.

The very first day Ashley brought me here to view, I fell in love again.  This time with a house.  This house is so me.   I need to find out the history of it.  Who build it…who were these people and where are they now?

*How did they know so much about me? How did they know what I would like and what not?

Guess what I’ll be doing in the next few months…history hunting!  Got time for history lessons? 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Here’s to Kensington…here’s to another new adventure!

  1. Good Day,
    did you find something out about your house?
    The reason why I’m asking is because I have a House that I NEED to know about in Kensington as well BUT I have no idea where to start.
    Any advice to a fellow History hunter?
    Thank you Rene

    • Lilly Loompa says:

      Hello Rene, thanks for your comment! At one stage there was a group called I love Kensington, you can find them on FB. I do not live in that house anymore. Also try speaking to the locals…especially older folk. Hope you find your answers!

Leave a Reply

