Is fowl language ok?

Lately I have been quite grieved by the amount and sort of language people use on public platforms like Facebook etc. Call me a “nat waslap” (afrikaans saying for a party pooper) if you want to.

Firstly, the extent we put ourselves out there with social media, is actually shocking and scary.  Yes we want to keep in touch with family and friends and FB is a revolutionary tool for that.  But I think it is utterly distasteful if people use colourful language to bring their point or opinion across.  A perception is immediately formed about the type of person you are when you use the “n-word” or “p-word”.

Yes, maybe you would like the public to think you are rough around the edges the louder your language, but I actually think it is the other way round.  I listened to one of our own, Vusi Thembekwayo this weekend on radio.  At the age of 17, Vusi was already ranked 1st in Africa for motivational speaking. He has been ranked 3rd in the world by an international public speaking body. As one of the best motivational speakers and keynote speakers alive today he has spoken in 4 of the 7 continents to over 250 000 people each year… and still counting!  He is eloquent and well-rounded.  He creates a very good impression and people take him seriously.

I aspire to that.  I want people to take me seriously for the right reasons.  I also feel we need to advocate for Public Speaking to become part of the school curriculum.  Many of us are very well qualified for our careers but we do not know how to sell ourselves in an eloquent manner.

Just some food for thought…

PS: I am off-line this week.  I am attending 3 family weddings in Cape Town this coming weekend.  Will definitely report on that next week!

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Is fowl language ok?

  1. Ntombi says:

    I wish more people can see this article. I definitely want to share it with my friends; because I do have those that think that using fowl language on Facebook is cool. Forgeting that the fowl language we use on Facebook, Twitter and My Space live a question mark on people about the kind of person one is.

Leave a Reply

