I should be grateful…

Dry riverbed

Source: The Sacramento BEE

THE DROUGHT

The worst drought in 60 years in the Horn of Africa has put more than 12 million people in need of immediate assistance in Kenya, Ethiopia, Djibouti and Somalia. Crops have failed and livestock have died after decreased rainfall in two consecutive rainy seasons.

THE CHILDREN

The drought and famine in Somalia have killed more than 29,000 children under age 5 in the last 100 days in southern Somalia, according to U.S. estimates. The United Nations says 640,000 Somali children are acutely malnourished, suggesting the death toll of small children will rise.

Somalia drought

A drought is an extended period of months or years when a region notes a deficiency in its water supply. Generally, this occurs when a region receives consistently below average precipitation. It can have a substantial impact on the ecosystem and agriculture of the affected region. Although droughts can persist for several years, even a short, intense drought can cause significant damage and harm the local economy.

Wow…I have realised how ungrateful I am sometimes.  I forget how blessed I am.  Yes, I have problems…lots of problems. But I also have a lot to be thankful for.  I am healthy, alive and have a family that loves me.  Imagine not having running water at your disposal.  Imagine not having eaten in weeks/months.  Imagine watching your children die of hunger.

Forgive me Lord for being so ungrateful.  I thank You for being my Provider.  I will stop being selfish and forget about what I need and want.  My mind has been altered into living with more gratitude and making a difference in other’s lives.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

