Techno? Oh no!

This is my phone…

My beat-up phone

This is my means of communication, my life-line to my clients, friends and family.  It shows you how much I have evolved in the last few years on the techno front.  Hubby got this phone in early 2006, and naturally I was the heirloom.  (Typically I get all his used phones)

I was quite intimidated by it as it is quite huge.  To me this phone was an upgrade from the Nokia 7610 I had:

My previous phone

This is not the actual picture of my phone.  (Phew…lucky for me!  It was held together by sellotape!) How embarrassing!  I loved it especially from a design point of view.

I’m the type of person who doesn’t catch on quick enough.  What I mean is, I am so busy trying to manage my life, I don’t embrace technology and the latest products immediately.

For instance, when I first got a cell phone in 1998 it was the “in” thing.  By that time, hand-held cell phones were in circulation for more than 20 years.  But it only really reached the masses in the early 90’s.  My parents and the more mature crowd were a bit weary about this new device taking over.  Rumours went around about it causing cancer etc.  I used to remark how “old” they are and that they need to get with the program.  How ironic that I feel like that “old” person now.

How I keep things together!

Now this phone has been through rainstorms literally.  It has fallen countless times and the battery is virtually exhausted. Still I cannot part with it.

Now you might ask why not buy another one?  Previously we used to acquire our phones through signing contracts with the Mobile phone providers.  However for the past few years we have been trying to detach ourselves from the credit system. So our motto is…if I cannot buy it cash right now…I wait or save until I can.

No more buying on credit so I guess I will have to live with it for another few months!  As a mother and manager of my home there are countless needs we have as a family…none of them now include a cell phone.

Now let me introduce you to my trusty laptop…

My laptop

Same story…;)

Have you ever had a phone look like this?

Please send me pictures of your mobile units 

Let’s have a little competition ek se!

  PS: Very excited as this is my 50th post today!  
Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Techno? Oh no!

  1. CBo says:

    Congratulations on your 50th post!
    Unfortunately I don’t have pics of the damage I’ve inflected on my phones, but let the record reflect that I accidentally drowned one and the other “fell” against a wall.

    • Lilly Loompa says:

      Thanks Claude! Blogging sure is hard work but very enjoyable!
      I am sure we all have a tale to tell regarding. I wonder what you were up to when your accidents happened! 🙂

  2. Ashley Naude says:

    Jou foon ruk.

Leave a Reply

