What lies below the rooftop…

Lately I have been thinking a lot about the rat race I find myself in.  It’s a constant hurry to nowhere.  Early mornings, traffic, work, politics, crime, poverty, dishonesty, traffic again, rushed evenings…where are we all heading?

Rooftops in suburbia

En-route home I am always fascinated by the Johannesburg suburbs.  This is where the workforce of the economic capital of SA resides.  I always wonder what goes on in each house.  Does this house have a father?  Does he provide for his family?  Are they happy?  The huge house on the hill…is the owner content although he makes millions?

Are the kids unruly?  Does the mother realise how much damage she is doing with that extra-marital affair.  Does the family ever have supper around the the dining table and discuss the day’s happenings?  The seven o’ clock news strikes, and while the rest of the country watches the day’s events, the women with the bruised face contemplates how she can escape this abusive relationship.  She tries to hide the weeping from her young kids who are unaware of the situation.

How will the family in the dilapidated shack survive the cold winter?  Where will the father find employment tomorrow?  How will they make it on less than R1000 per month.  School fees, food, clothes, groceries, transport money…the list is endless.

My neighbourhood

All looks fine and peaceful from the outside.  Most of us lead secret lives.  My mother always says…”Elke huis het sy kruis.” Roughly translated…each home has its own problems.  How well do you know your neighbour?  Do I know them by name?  Do you make a conscious effort to reach out?  Do I realise I can make a positive difference?  I love the picture above…although we might be in turmoil here on the ground…the rainbow speaks of hope and a way out.

Genesis 9:12-16 (NIV) 

 12 And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: 13 I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. 16 Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

