My love affair…

Chelsea at the beach

Kirsten at the beach

These pictures give new meaning to the words “beach bums”.  I always try to get posterior pics of the girls when they pick up shells at the beach.  Aren’t they cute?

It’s holiday’s like these that I miss home and the beach the most.  Johannesburg is 588 km’s from the closest beach which is in Durban.  That is sad, taking into account that I used to be 45 minutes away from the beach when I stayed in Paarl, in the Western Cape.

Sometimes I feel I have nothing in common with this city.  Then there are days when I love it.  I guess I have a stormy love affair with the city of gold.  Ah well…I can always try the dams of Joburg?  I have been to Emmerentia Dam, Florida lake and then the big one…Hartebeespoortdam, which technically is not part of Joburg but situated in the North West Province.

I know for sure…you can’t compare the two cities to each other.  They are so different. The one is temperamental with 4 seasons in a day.  The other is fierce and fiery with thunderstorms that make you shiver.  The one is calm and easy…the other is fast-paced and driven.  I guess I am fortunate to have the best of both worlds.  I love my South Africa!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “My love affair…

  1. […] Few things irritate me as much as bad drivers. I have been living in Jo’burg now for two years and am convinced that Capetonians are better at driving than the Johannesburgers. Don’t get me wrong, I love Jozi.  In fact I love it so much I have written about it before.  Read about it here, and here. […]

Leave a Reply

