How to make a grocery bag holder

I guess DIY Friday can also be Crafty Friday?  I have been wanting to make this cute grocery bag holder I found on the Internet.

Grocery bag holder

If you have a sewing machine and nice fabric, here are the instructions:

You’ll Need:

  • If you want your holder all one color – 1 piece of fabric, 51cm x 64 cm. If you want strips like pictured here, you’ll need 9 pieces of fabric, 51cm x  8.90cm.
  • 2 pieces of narrow elastic (1/4 wide or smaller).
  • 1 piece of ribbon – 36cm long.
  • Thread
If you’re using strips, sew all of them together along their long sides. Iron all of the seams open.
Then make a seam for the elastic on both ends.

Now, thread your elastic through each end and sew each end of the elastic securely to the opening of each end of the casing. Keep in mind, the larger piece of elastic is for the top of your holder (so you can shove many bags in) and the smaller piece of elastic is for the bottom (so that you only pull one bag out at a time).

Lastly, sew the 2 long sides together, with right sides together.

Hang…………….and stuff.

It is so nice I had to try to make my own version.  Now let me get it straight…I don’t sew.  I don’t even have a sewing machine.  So this one was going to have to be made by hand!

I am extremely impatient and lazy when it comes to sewing.  I try to stay clear of it except for the odd button or to mending a hem.  That’s it.

So here is my very very simple version made by hand.  We had another spat with 5 mice last week.  They created havoc.  Among the items they chewed on was one of our South African flags!

Chewed

So I decided to recycle it as I do everything else.  I was actually a bit nervous as I know there are regulations regarding using the flag in any other way as it was intended.  You can read about it here.

So after about an hour of sewing (and pricking myself with the needle twice) I managed to finish it!

It is too long!  I guess I am going to have to stuff it with a whole lot of plastic bags now!  I couldn’t even find enough bags to stuff it for the photo as the mice chewed through them when I stored it below the kitchen sink.

That’s it.  It is not perfect…in fact it is too long and narrow, but it is really practical.  And once again, it cost me nothing.

Would you try to make this?  Please send me pics when you’re done.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 605 other followers

